Christians: For Israel or Against?

 

You may not think of Christians as Jewish, but have you considered that one quality of ours? Have you noticed how, um, diversified we Christians are? From inside the camp, I see it everywhere. And I’ll go on record here that (no offense intended) Christians are practically Jewish in the way we disagree. Not quite up to proper two-people-three-opinions status yet, but still. Think how many denominations you know of to see what I mean. Baptist, Mennonite, Anglican, Lutheran, Presbyterian, etc., etc., etc. They’re all there.

 

Worshipping separately.

 

To tell the truth, most divisions in our camp resemble picket fences more than “Great Divides.” Fences go up over disagreements like the minimum age for baptism (infant/adult?), traditional vs. modern service or whether drums and guitars are kosher (sorry, couldn’t help myself). That kind of thing. Good neighbours, but opposite sides of the fence.

 

But then there are other denominations. Claiming to be in the Book and on the same page, but not as Biblical.

 

Recently The Jerusalem Post quoted a church leader who said, “The Holy Scriptures cannot be used to justify the return of Jews to Israel and the displacement of the Palestinians, to justify the occupation by Israel of Palestinian lands.” He added that, “We Christians cannot speak of the ‘promised land’ as an exlusive right for a privileged Jewish people…There is no longer a chosen people.’” [Bold italics mine]

 

To which I can only echo the same question Michael Freund asked his readers: “What Bible is the Vatican reading?” http://www.jpost.com/LandedPages/PrintArticle.aspx?id=193019

 

Or my own: Has Monsignor Cyril Salim Bustros read the verses from our Bible?

 

 

The L_RD will have compassion on Jacob; once again He will choose Israel and will settle them in their own land.(1)

 

I will fulfill the oath I swore to your forefathers, to give them a land flowing with milk and honey… (2)

 

For this is what the Sovereign L_RD says: I myself will search for my sheep and look after them. As a shepherd looks after his scattered flock when he is with them, so will I look after my sheep. I will rescue them from all the places where they were scattered on a day of clouds and darkness.’ (3)

‘I will bring them out from the nations and gather them from the countries, and I will bring them into their own land. I will pasture them on the mountains of Israel, in the ravines and in all the settlements in the land. I will tend them in a good pasture, and the mountain heights of Israel will be their grazing land. There they will lie down in good grazing land, and there they will feed in a rich pasture on the mountains of Israel.’ (4)

 

As a Christian, I don’t mind picket fences. I have my preferences when it comes to worship after all, and so do other Christians I think of as my “neighbors.”

 

But in this case, it’s not just a fence.

 

Monsignor Bustros, please don’t say “We Christians” again.

 

  1. Isaiah 14:1
  1. Jeremiah 11:5
  2. Ezekiel 34:11,12
  3. Ezekiel 34:13,14

 

As published on: http://thejewishnewsplace.com/blogs/latest-posts/entry/christians-for-israel-or-against.html

Leave a Reply

